The Mortgage Bankers Association of New York consists of a diverse membership of real estate and business specialists whose mission is to provide the most professional service to the public and private sectors in an informative, ethical and dedicated manner to meet the ever evolving challenges facing the real estate finance industry.

Our mission

  • To promote the welfare of the real estate finance industry of New York State;
  • To encourage sound and ethical business practices in the real estate finance industry of New York State;
  • To provide business networking opportunities to its members; and to provide current education on real estate finance to its members.

The association endeavors to create an environment developing innovative business tools, educating and training industry professionals, providing a forum for the sharing of ideas and business networking, and informing the real estate finance industry on legislative and regulatory issues.

President’s Message

Jonathan Stern

President, MBAofNY

I am honored to serve as the president of the Mortgage Bankers Association of New York (MBA of NY) at such a pivotal time in our industry’s history.

The COVID-19 pandemic has presented many challenges to our members and to the real estate finance markets. I wish to extend my deepest sympathies to our members who have lost family and friends, or whose own health has been seriously affected. As for the pandemic’s effect on business, the MBA of NY has done its utmost to serve our members and continue providing the programming, resources, and community that we all rely on.

My colleagues on the board of governors, all of whom are long-term members and active market participants, helped navigate the various challenges presented by the pandemic. Thanks to their dedication and follow-through, we have emerged as an even stronger and more united organization.

I’m proud not only of the board’s contributions, but also of the diversity it reflects. Each representative brings a different background, specialization, and point of view that enhances the breadth of our expertise.

MBA of NY members are equally worthy of recognition and our leadership and members share two attributes in common: They care deeply about causes important to the lending community and they advocate for these causes. Rest assured that as the market recovers from the pandemic, the MBA of NY will be leading the way.

I am excited about the future for the MBA of NY. Our mission, to promote the welfare of the real estate finance industry in New York State, has never been more relevant and MBA of NY leadership and members are well prepared to advance this mission by leveraging our collective insight and relationships.

Please join us at one of our upcoming events and learn how you can get involved in an organization that has been at the forefront of real estate finance in New York since 1948.


Jonathan Stern
President, MBAofNY



Bonnie Nachamie, Esq.

Bonnie S. Nachamie, PC

Our History

There is an old saying “history never looks like history when you are living through it”. During good times or challenging times, periods of great development or times of economic uncertainty, the one constant that the New York real estate community has come to rely on has been the Mortgage Bankers Association of New York, Inc.

Born out of the post-war real estate boom in 1948, the MBA of New York has promoted the welfare of the real estate finance industry of New York State ever since. Our purpose for existence and our mission have transcended every real estate cycle since our inception. We have always endeavored to provide our membership with high quality networking opportunities, topical educational programming on matters relevant to the times and be an advocate for their interests in the political and business arenas on issues affecting our industry.

Over the years, our Past Presidents, Officers and Boards of Governors have been leaders of our industry and have always graciously volunteered their time to serve. The MBA of New York proudly recognizes the history created by our Past Presidents and gratefully acknowledges not only their service to our industry but also their contributions to our organization over the years.

High interest rates, low interest rates, inflation, deflation, stagflation, over-building, under-building, tight credit,easy credit, no credit, credit crunches and, of course, long periods of prosperity. The MBA of New York and its members have lived through it all. And, for every situation we have lived through, combined with all that we have learned from our past, the MBA of New York and its members have always emerged stronger, smarter, tougher and better- together.

After all, we’re the MBA of New York!

Past Presidents

Gregory Nuber2018-2020
David Soares2016-2018
Frederick A. McDonald, Jr.2014-2016
Brian Scesney2012-2014
Michael B. Fletcher2010-2012
Michael J. Hurley, Jr., Esq.2008-2010
Gerard Zapata2006-2008
Douglas H. Forsyth2004-2006
Henry Boeckmann III2002-2004
James T. Freel2000-2002
Janet Knipfing1999-2000
Michael P. McManus1998-1999
George Bossis1997-1998
Steven B. Jason1996-1997
Richard A. Nardi1995-1996
Russell G. Matthews1994-1995
Patricia Niemas1993-1994
Lawrence J. Longua1992-1993
Mark A. Iannone1991-1992
Anthony J. Harney1990-1991
Frank J. Harvey1989-1990
Michael Adler1988-1989
Jane E. Greenstein1987-1988
Richard J. Santoro1986-1987
Malcolm Rosenberg1985-1986
Joseph B. Tocharshewsky1984-1985
Louis E. Hathaway, III1983-1984
Marilyn L. Brown1982-1983
H.L. Van Varick1981-1982
George A. Metzger1980-1981
Thomas F. Roberts, III1979-1980
Robert F. Hill1978-1979
Frank J. Finan1977-1978
Patrick J. Gavin1976-1977
Peter C. Haeffner, Jr.1975-1976
George F. Brunner1974-1975
Frederick E. Bolk1973-1974
Thomas G. Davis, Jr.1972-1973
Arthur I. Sonnenblick1971-1972
William F. Reynolds1970-1971
John B. Bailey1969-1970
Vincent J. Quinn1968-1969
Cornelius C. Rose, Jr.1967-1968
William C. Plog1965-1966
Charles H.Haynsworth1965
James E.Gorman1964
William J. Gill1963-1964
Thomas H. Quin1962-1963
Philip L. Greenawalt1961-1962
John F. Eleford1960-1961
Russel G. Smith1959-1960
Eugene J. McCarthy1958-1959
William C. Batchelder1957-1958
Albert E. Berkeley1956-1957
Harry M. Huter1955-1956
Lawrence A. Epter1954-1955

Board of Governors

Officers 2020-2021


Kitty Yen

Structured Credit Executive
U.S. Trust | Bank of America
Private Wealth Management


Karen Kozlowski, Esq



Zahra B. Jafri, Nmls #17149

Lynx Mortgage Bank LLC #5838


Jonathan Stern

Managing Director
Meridian Capital Group, LLC

Board of Governors 2020-2021

Richard T. Carr

VP, Agency Originations,
Southwell Realty Capital

Gregory Nuber

Chair, Past Presidents
Advisory Committee
Commercial Real Estate, BHI

Jenn Smaragdas

Director of Operations &
Business Development,
C3S CoRE Consulting, Inc.

Art Saitta

Assistant Vice President,
Residential Business

Joshua Stein, Esq.

Principal, Joshua Stein PLLC

Frederick A. Mcdonald, jr., Mrics

Senior Business
Development Officer
WFG National Title Insurance

Adam Luysterborghs

VP, Agency Originations
CPC Mortgage Company, LLC

Jeoung (Aj) Jin

Managing Director
Meridian Capital Group, LLC

Douglas Giles

Managing Director
Meridian Capital Group, LLC

Gregg Christensen

Senior Business
Development Officer
WFG National Title Insurance Company


Richard A. Nardi, Esq.

Partner, Loeb & Loeb, LLP


Committee Chairs 2020-2021


Sarah Lindner

Meridian Capital Group


Victor Amoo, Caia

Basis Investment Group


Mark Destefanis

Principal deStefanis Realty Capital,LLC


Rebecca Jurbala

Emerald Creek Capital


Steven J. Rosa

Managing Director Meridian Capital Group, LLC


Jenn Smaragdas

Director of Operations & Business Development, C3S CoRE Consulting Inc.


Joshua Stein, Esq.

Joshua Stein PLLC


Gregg Christensen

Vice President WFG National Title Insurance


Kitty Yen

U.S. Trust | Bank of American Private Wealth Management